Monday, September 25, 2017

Still Life by Dani Pettrey

Series: Chesapeake Valor #2
Genre: Mystery/Suspense
Publisher: Bethany House
Released: January 31, 2017
353 pages
About the Book:

Blacklisted in the photography business over a controversial shot, Avery Tate answered an ad for a crime scene photographer. She expected to be laughed at, but crime scene analyst Parker Mitchell hired her outright--and changed her life. But six months ago, when her feelings for Parker became too strong, she left his employ to sort out her heart.

Now, for the first time, Avery is facing the world that rejected her to attend the gallery opening of a photography exhibit and support her best friend, who modeled for the show. But the only image of her friend is a chilling photo of her posing as if dead--and the photographer insists he didn't take the shot. Worse, her friend can't be found. She immediately calls Parker for help. As Avery, Parker, and his friends in law enforcement dig into the mystery, they find themselves face-to-face with a relentless and deadly threat. 
                                           Goodreads / Amazon / Christianbook 

My Rating & Thoughts:    🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟  (4 stars)  

“Your past is ... in your past ... it’s what made you who you are.”
I love this group of characters. The relationships between those in the group have improved since the first book, the same tensions are not there and they seem to be much more comfortable together. I loved how Ms. Pettrey gives us an update of what’s been going on with the characters since we last saw them without dragging it out. Avery hasn’t worked with Parker for a while but now a case has thrown them together once again. This forced interaction makes them address their feelings for one another. Can they move past their fears and take the risk to express their feelings?
There are two cases being dealt with, the main one that keeps Avery and Parker on their toes is creepy. I couldn’t believe the things that someone did. The second case that keeps Declan busy is scary in a different way. Both cases kept me guessing and trying to figure out what would happen next, who was responsible and would justice be served.
I really felt for what Avery was going through, but the strength she exhibited to do what she needed to do to get justice for her friend was inspiring. Avery has overcome so much to get to where she is today; she was probably my favourite character in this story. The insert of the various prayers keep the message of turning to God for help strong and showed that God will be there for you through everything. The other strong message presented was that once you turn your life over to God you are a new creation, your past is forgiven and wiped clean.
I loved the relationship dynamics between the various characters – Avery & Parker, Griffin & Finlay and of course Declan & Tanner’s entertaining interactions (what is going to happen there?). Then there is Kate who is continuing to search for the missing Luke. This is the one mystery that seems to have the group at odds, they want answers but as the years continue to pass with no answers they are left questioning and their own theories leave them disagreeing.
Even though the story deals with some difficult and tension filled moments there are lighthearted, fun and even swoon worthy moments spread throughout with various characters. I highly recommend this series and can’t wait to see what else is in store for these characters, and will they get answers to the Luke mystery?
“Know that nothing you could say could change my love for you – other than deepening it. The more I see and learn, the harder I fall.”

(I purchasd my copy of this book; opinions expressed in this review
are my honest opinion and completely my own.)

 Other Books in the Series:
1 Cold Shot 3-Blind-Spot_thumb

No comments:

Post a Comment