Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Buried Secrets by Irene Hannon

Series: Men of Valor # 1
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Publisher: Revell
Released: March 31, 2015
386 pages
About the Book:

After seven years as a Chicago homicide detective, Lisa Grant has hit a wall. Ready for a kinder, gentler life, she takes a job as a small-town police chief. But the discovery of a human skeleton by a construction crew at the edge of town taxes the resources of her department. A call for assistance brings detective Mac McGregor, an ex-Navy SEAL, to her doorstep. As they work to solve the mystery behind the unmarked grave, danger begins to shadow them. Someone doesn't want this dead person telling any tales--and will stop at nothing to make certain a life-shattering secret stays buried.
Master storyteller Irene Hannon is back with an exciting new series featuring former special forces operatives now in the thick of the action in civilian life. Hannon is at the top of her game in this can't-put-it-down thriller that will have readers up until the wee hours devouring every page.

My Rating & Thoughts:    🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟  (5 stars)

“Mental preparedness was as important as physical readiness for any challenge.”  

Unlike most suspense novels we meet the villain early on in this story. We may know who this person is but the police don’t and even when they do suspect the correct person trying to prove it may be difficult. The two main characters are Mac McGregor, a St. Louis County Police Detective and Lisa Grant, Police Chief of the town of Carson. These two meet on the job, when some bones are uncovered and the attraction between them is obvious, however they choose not to act on it until their mutual case is closed and they are no longer working together. This gives them a second motivation to solve it quickly in addition to the first motivation - bringing the guilty to justice and providing answers for the victim’s family? Mac and Lisa worked well together and I really enjoyed the moments of flirting between them. They are both strong characters and if anyone is going to solve this case and bring the guilty to justice it will be these two with their determination. The villain is intense and will stop at nothing. Ms. Hannon had me hooked right from the prologue I was drawn in and couldn’t wait to see what happened next. I loved that the villain’s POV was spread throughout; this added some creepiness to the story and allowed the reader to get inside their head. This villain definitely was one scary character.

We briefly meet Mac’s brothers, Lance and Finn, who are entertaining (especially when picking on Mac) and I wanted to get to know them more. Thankfully these two will return in their own books as this series continues. I can’t wait to start the next book.

“As for being along, maybe he wouldn’t be taking in his fireworks solo next Fourth of July. In fact, if a certain dark-haired, hazel-eyed police chief was in the picture, they might be sharing a whole different kind of fireworks.” 

(I purchased my copy of this book; opinions expressed in this review
are my honest opinion and completely my own.)

Other Books in the Series:

2 Thin Ice  3 Tangled Webs


  1. Thank you for the wonderful review. So glad you enjoyed this one!